Successful Weekends Lead to Successful Weeks…Right?

Relaxed. Relieved. Exhausted. Excited. Anxious.

Maybe not the best mindset to have on a Sunday evening – but I did have a nearly-truly restful weekend!  I drove over to Madison on Saturday – which would have been great except for 1) A bad accident that blocked the interstate (hope everyone is ok); 2) Construction which had the interstate down to 1 lane for 10 miles for no discernible reason; and 3) my car doing the annoying engine-revving hiccuping thing again.  Sigh.

Then – colcannon with mom – yum! An Irish specialty with mashed potatoes and kale.  Also onions and butter galore! Sooo tasty.  Then we went shopping around, and I made my long awaited trip to Penzey’s Spices.  Replenished my stock of Bicentennial and got some Southwest and garlic power.  No, this is not a paid advertisement. Went to Kohl’s and left without buying much of anything, although I do now know the type of kitchen knives I want – since I am down to one steak knife, and one broken-blade butcher knife. Then the best part…

2011 Sun Prairie Sweet Corn Festival!!!  Now, anyone who knows me knows that I have almost nothing good to say about the last five years I lived in good ol’ SP.  The Corn Festival, however, is one completely undamaged and unspoiled memory. Yesterday was simply another page in that book. Got there with mom and Drew around 4pm – loaded a tot with as many ears of fresh boiled corn as we could carry – and dug. in. I know I ate two ears – which is a lot for me. Drew ate a lot! There were mini donuts involved also – and giant bananas with dreds.  But I digress.  After some tilt-a-whirling around we took off (it looked like rain) and headed to Takumi for sushi.  Which was actually not that good and kind of overpriced. I always loved Takumi because it seemed cheaper and better quality than Ginza, at least, but I was mostly unimpressed last night. Ah well.

Today was donuts and coffee followed by movie and popcorn.  Mom and I saw The Help which I had read last spring. I was not expecting much from the movie – given that the book was kind of fluffy, and the reviews said it didn’t go deep enough, but I actually thought it was well done. Sad and funny and scary in equal measure.

But now it’s nearly 10 here in the Brew City. The house is clean, the dog is asleep, and I am beginning to think of the busy week ahead. It’s goal setting time in the Real World and I’m still playing catch up with all there is to learn here. I am starting to think that 1 year is a more realistic onboarding period, as I see no end to the questions I have in mind.  Also having a brand new manager – M – starting his journey alongside me.  We have a high stakes phone call with national managers on Thursday, and I am starting to have that panicky “night before the final” feeling…

Off to bed, perchance to sleep…

Leave a Reply

