New York, New York!

Day 1 of the Great Escape sees me walking the streets of New York.  It makes sense to me, I believe I have launched every major initiative of my adult life either while, or just after spending some time here. Transferring colleges, applying to Law School, declining law school, leaving New Orleans, and through my current career transition.  This is where I come for inspiration, and where the energy of the streets reminds me that everything is still possible.

So yesterday, I landed here mid morning. Spent some quality time chatting with my family (my cousins, the people I am closest to outside my immediate family, live here in Harlem) and wandered out into the sunshine.  Walked down and found a nail shop -8 bucks is a price point I can live with, even if it’s not the best job.  It’s also the first time I have seen peddlers come into a nail place. In the time it took for my manicure, I could have bought leggings for 3 dollars (every size, every color), bootleg DVDs for 2 dollars, and handmade earrings (prices vary). I declined, but I did think about the generations of folks who have made fortunes in this city doing exactly that-once apples and shirtwaists, now every color of leggings. I love New York.

Headed downtown after that-and fell into conversation with a dude on the subway. (Of course-because headphones and sunglasses aren’t a deterrent to the truly urgent). For the next three stops I heard all about his landlady and the drama over which trash bin he’s allowed to use (landlady, if you’re reading this, rethink your priorities). Arrived at 14th street and climbed out into the sun of Union Square. (First I bought boots).

Union Square Greenmarket!

September in New York-shopping in the shadow of the Empire State Building.

September in New York-shopping in the shadow of the Empire State Building.

 

Market scene. Relatively uncrowned on a Friday afternoon.

Market scene. Relatively uncrowned on a Friday afternoon.

These are my people. This is my land.

These are my people. This is my land.

I love this. I want to paint this.

I love this. I want to paint this.

Fully local, fully gluten free, five bucks total. #eatlocal

Fully local, fully gluten free, five bucks total. #eatlocal

After a nice lunch in the sunshine, I wandered around for awhile-I always find myself pulled toward the lower west side, and it’s so interesting to see how much everyone has changed, especially over the last ten years.  While a few of my hole in the wall handouts are still there, most have been swallowed byThe Body Shop, and FroYo places. I did discover a couple of hidden gems on my explorations-

I tried so hard to get a picture of this car. #fail

I tried so hard to get a picture of this car. #fail


Probably the greatest, most intensely and intentionally decorated Halloween store I have ever experienced.

Probably the greatest, most intensely and intentionally decorated Halloween store I have ever experienced.


This was behind me and scared me to death.

This was behind me and scared me to death.


Hovering from the ceiling.

Hovering from the ceiling.


Ok!

Ok!


Childhood dreams fulfilled!

Childhood dreams fulfilled!


Amazing, incredible artwork throughout.

Amazing, incredible artwork throughout.


Got even more real downstairs.

Got even more real downstairs.


 

Since my day began at 4:45 to catch my flight, I was absolutely exhausted to the point of falling asleep in the subway, so went home ordered sushi, and called it an early night. Love this city, excited to adventure more tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

